How this started…

Gary and I had always talked about having a child but it was never on the horizon, always sometime in the future. 

Gary was attending a training class in Fallon, NV for 2 months when his helicopter went down mid-February. This is something that they shouldn’t have walked away from, but everyone survived with minor to no injuries. This was definitely a wake up call for both of us, and we decided now would be as good a time as any to start a family. 
Excited, we were ready to try when he was home for good mid-March. A couple weeks later I had been going through a lot of different emotions about whether this was the right time for this and decided it probably wasn’t the right time due to all the new things we were starting and places we were planning on traveling. 
Little did we know I was already pregnant! I had chalked up being emotional to things happening at school and working through some issues of my own.
April 29th I decided to take a pregnancy test just to be sure (Gary didn’t know I was doing this) and it was positive right away. I called him in to verify and we were both shocked, my legs felt like jello and I couldn’t believe I was pregnant. 6 pregnancy tests later…I made another run to the store for 2 more brands…you know, just incase the other 3 I took the first time were incorrect. All positive right away. We confirmed it with the Navy that Friday and it was official, December 30, 2009 we could expect to add another member to our family. 
Leave a Reply

