Prepping Pre-folds…take 1.

For those who don’t know what pre-folds are, they are similar to the old style diapers used for cloth diapering. They have a more absorbent middle layer and can be used many different ways. They can be tri-folded and put into a cover, or pinned/snappi’d on their own with a cover put over. They’re the most economical for cloth diapering as they come cheap, my stash so far has cost less than $100 with shipping, and they can be used not only as diapers but as burp cloths, changing pads, etc.



New pre-folds aren’t able to be used right out of the box and need to be prepped. Because I have a ton of time on my hands and received all my pre-folds I figured it would be time to prep. There are a couple ways of prepping, and I’ve decided to do the boiling method today to see if it’s as easy as those on DiaperSwappers say it is.

I took 3 preemie and 3 infant sized pre-folds and added them to a pot of boiling water that had a squirt of Dawn. I boiled them for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
After the boil I threw them in the wash for a pre-soak in hot, and pre-wash in hot. Then followed by regular wash in hot with an extra rinse in cold. This first wash period is without detergent. After this, another wash cycle with detergent exactly the same as the one before.
The last 3 pictures are all the infant pre-folds after prepping. They’re much fluffier and smaller than what they started out as (comparison photo is the last photo).
Everything considered this was a fairly easy process, I just had to listen for the timer on the stove when they were done boiling as well as the timers on the washer/dryer.
Today (Friday) I’ll be prepping the last of the pre-folds since Gary won’t be home till late since he’s observing briefs, then I’ll be done with that until the baby comes.
Leave a Reply

