Making diapers

Seeing as though I have quite a bit of time on my hands I decided to try my hand at making some of the prefolds that I got for the baby into prefitteds. Prefitteds are prefolds that have be converted to act like a fitted diaper, but you still have to pin or snappi them (or add velcro if you’re so inclined).

I found an easy tutorial on diaperswappers.com here, and away I went. I haven’t sewn in a while, so I knew this would be interesting. My first attempt was using a preemie sized diaper.
Diaper opened, inside view
Side view
Front view, snappi’d
Side view, snappi’d
Back view, snappi’d
Next I tried an infant sized prefold, and now that I know I can make these…and fairly quickly I’ll see how they fit on the new babe and go from there. Hopefully they’ll work out for night-time changes when folding a prefold is just too much at 3am.
Open view, infant size

Infant size
Front view, snappi’d: Infant size
Side view, snappi’d: Infant size
Back View, snappi’d: Infant size
Leave a Reply

