IBCLC Exam. 5 months…

I’m happy to be able to say that I am officially registered to sit for the 2014 IBCLC exam in July. I was accepted and without being audited, which was my biggest fear since I didn’t want to have to track down all of my supporting documents.

The exam is in about 5 months, the last week in July. I’m taking the rest of February off from doing lactation stuff to figure out what my plan is for studying. There isn’t a whole lot of info online about studying for the exam, but I’m hoping to do some posts here on how my studying is going and what I’m doing to prepare.

My first order of business is going to be to order a practice exam set from either Health-e-Learning or Lactation Education Resources, most likely it’ll be LER. I’m hoping to complete a practice exam to see where I need to start my studying and go from there. I’ll be ordering both, but to start out with only one.

Here is the small (ha) and expensive list of books I’m planning on getting as well. Not only to help with the studying but to keep for my private practice.

Supporting Sucking Skills by Catherine Watson Genna

Breastfeeding and Human Lactation by Jan Riordin and it’s study guide

The Breastfeeding Atlas by Barbara Wilson-Clay. I have a previous version of this, but if I can swing the new one I will

Core Curriculum for Lactation Consultant Practice by ILCA

Comprehensive Lactation Consultant Exam Review by Linda Smith

 

I’m hoping to get in a bunch of sewing before I start in on all this studying, and knock out a big pile of UFOs (unfinished objects) I have before March. After that I just have 1 main project I’ll be working on (it’s a bit of a secret but I’m excited to post here when it’s complete) until later this spring.

 

 

Leave a Reply

